Gillis Field House

17 Jun 0800 – 1600


  • Archery is composed of four categories: Individual Compound Open, Individual Recurve Open, Team Compound and Team Recurve. Competitors may shoot compound and recurve bows from a standing or seated position.
  • Men and women will be combined for all archery events.


  • Athletes compete in different classification categories based on functional abilities including impaired muscle power/range of movement, limb deficiency and visual impairment.
  • Visually impaired archers will compete in a separate classification than sighted archers. All VI archers wear blindfolds and shoot with a tactile sight.


    2015 DoD Warrior Games

  • Army – 4 Gold / 1 Silver / 1 Bronze
  • Marine Corps – 2 Silver
  • Navy – 2 Bronze
  • Air Force – 1 Silver
  • UK Armed Forces – 1 Bronze


  • A recurve bow has a distinctive outward curve at the top. A compound bow features mechanical pulleys, telescopic sights and release aids to assist in accuracy. Depending on athlete classification, some use customized release aids using their jaw, chin or teeth.
  • Some competition arrows are made of carbon graphite with an inner tube of aluminum, while some are carbon only. These materials allow arrows to be light, stiff and durable during competition.
  • What happens when an arrow lands on the line between two scoring circles? Called a line breaker, results in the archer receiving the higher score.

See game rules for more info.(best viewed using Firefox).